With Easter upon us, it is not too late to still capture the beauty of the Easter season. Many of we Christians say to ourselves, “I am too far gone to come back to the faith. The sins I have committed are too many to be forgiven. And besides, I have been away from the faith for too many years and I am not worthy to be welcomed back. Yet there is a spark inside me that at least says I should try.” Hey! That is God talking to you! Maybe the following story will help you.

wellJesus came to the town of Sychar and was sitting by a well, tired, sweaty and very thirsty. He did not have a bucket to draw water. A woman approached Jesus and he asked her for a drink since she could draw the water. This woman was a Samaritan, and as you know, the Jews and the Samaritans were not the best of friends. In fact, they avoided each other.

So she was a little bit startled by the request and said, “How can you ask me for a drink when you are a Jew?”
After some conversation, Jesus said, “But whoever drinks the water I shall give will never thirst; the water I shall give will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” She said to herself, “This man must be a prophet.” Then she asked Jesus to give her the water.

In one breath, she has made her first open confession. But she was still not sure Jesus would give her the Living Water. Jesus then told her to go get her husband. She answered, “I do not have a husband.”

Jesus said, “I know, you have had five husbands and the one you are with now is not your husband.”

She now realized that this man, Jesus, was more than a prophet. Why? She never met Jesus and “yet he knows my surly history and still offers eternal water to me. Who is this man?” She knows the Messiah will come—and then Jesus tells her, “I am the Messiah.”

She is joyful, knowing she has been saved, and returns to her town to proclaim the Good News!  (For more on the story…read John 4: 5-42.)

So you see, it is never too late to come back to the faith. God welcomes everybody regardless of your past. What better time to come back than now …the Easter Season!

See you in church!!

Alleluia!!  …  Happy Easter … Buon Pasqua!!

A.M.D.G.
Francesco

 

